Archive 2009

bmt-Presentation at Medientagen München

Media and Transformation – this was the slogan of this year’s “Medientage München”, taking place from October 28th to the 30th at the ICM. We went along with this slogan and presented trend-setting topics at our booth on the trade show and at the congress event (panel 4.5 – admission charged).

Highlights of our presentation were interactive applications for the iPhone – a portal for local radio stations in Bavaria – and iTV-applications based on Yahoo!-Widgets. Furthermore we presented our products TPEG Analyser and TPEG on air. For the first time ever it is possible to encode premium travel information to offer new business models for TPEG. By integrating the HECA system – developed by Fraunhofer IIS – there is a way of encoding specific parts of a service.

After a presentation by Rainer Biehn, Head of Engineering at bmt – on Thursday the 29th of October – there was a discussion on the topic “Wireless Internet vs. Digital Terrestrial Broadcasting” with top-class referees:

Dr. Hans Hege, Director of Medienanstalt Berlin-Brandenburg, Berlin,
Helwin Lesch, Head of Program-Distribution, BR, Munich, Bärbel Vogel-Mideldorf, Unterabteilungsleiterin für Telekommunikations- und Postpolitik,Internationale Angelegenheiten im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie, Bonn

Presentation: Frank Strässle-Wendelstein, Managing Director at bmt.

Pictures

bmt-presenatation at the TKLM Symposium 2009

As part of the TKLM Symposium “Terrestrial broadcasting of the future – the future of terrestrial broadcasting” Rainer Biehn, Technical Director of the bmt, lectured on the topic:

Terrestrial 2.0 – with hybrid networks in the future?
New approaches for linking terrestrial broadcasting with the Internet.

The presentation in german language is available here: download

Broadcast and mobility – bmt Products at IFA, IBC and IAA

Premium services will help drivers to make their hectic lives that bit easier. Finding a vacant parking space, getting up-to-date fuel price information and latest local weather news: TPEG combined with HECA is the way to deliver these data to mobile users and dynamic navigation systems. Free-to-air services can easily be combined with new attractive traffic and travel services as paid content.

At IFA, IBC and IAA, Bayerische Medien Technik (bmt) GmbH will present a live transmission chain with TPEG and HECA in co-operation with Fraunhofer IIS at their booth, demonstrating a possible combination of free-to-air and premium components.

The TPEG set-up is done with the TPEG ON AIR playout system. Analysis and visualisation of TPEG data can be done with the TPEG ANALYSER. Both systems are provided by Bayerische Medien Technik.

The Fraunhofer system HECA – High Efficiency Conditional Access enables controlled distribution of digital content and is therefore the key technology for a service provider that wants to address closed user groups and plans to set up a premium service.

At the following shows you can get a live demonstration of TPEG and HECA:

IFA – Berlin, 4 – 9 September – TecWatch 12, Hall 5.3

IBC – Amsterdam, 11 – 15 September – Hall 8, Stand C81

IAA – Frankfurt, 15 – 18 September – Hall 4.1, Stand C15

Please contact us for any questions or an appointment at the Fraunhofer IIS booth.

TPEG-Workshop

The first TPEG-Workshop “Getting in touch with TPEG” took place on the 23rd of June 2009 in Munich/Germany.

In co-operation with TISA, Bayerische Medien Technik (bmt) offered this one-day workshop.

TPEG is a protocol developed by EBU in co-operation with the European Union which was designed to broadcast digital travel- and traffic information. The workshop was addressed to all engineering staff from the automobile industry, manufacturers of end-user devices, broadcast network providers, multiplexer manufacturers, service and programme providers and representatives from the broadcast industry.

The speakers Bev Marks (Holly Blue Associates) and Martin Dreher (bmt) presented the following topics:

- Introduction to TPEG Technology
– TPEG Specifications
– TPEG Reception in Theory and Hands-on Session
– TPEG Service Design in Theory and Hands-on Session

If you are interested in upcoming workshops please send an Email to: info@bmt-online.de

First National Digital Traffic Broadcast Service Launched in Great Britain – bmt Provides Pivotal System Component

Trafficmaster, UK’s leading provider of real-time traffic information, has launched the first nationwide Digital Traffic Broadcast service in Great Britain. By providing its “TPEG on air” playout system, bmt has decisively supported Trafficmaster with the implementation of the service.

According to the TPEG standard, traffic data generated by Trafficmaster is fed into the Digital Radio stream, providing better quality and more reliable traffic flow information, including accidents and road works, in real-time. The service informs travellers about the expected delay, and re-routes them around the affected area.

The “TPEG on air” playout system features a modular design and supports open interfaces. Thus it allows its users to import traffic data from all common formats like XML and binary data and can easily be customised.

Aiming mainly at the automotive industry and the producers of portable navigation devices, the new Digital Broadcast service is available for public tests. It fully supports the TPEG standards developed and maintained by TISA (Traveller Information Services Association). As a member of TISA bmt fosters the further development of TPEG as the future standard for mobile services.

More information (pdf, 34kb)

Archiv 2009

bmt-Präsentation auf den Medientagen München

MUT – Medien und Transformation lautete das Motto der diesjährigen Medientage München, die vom 28. bis 30. Oktober 2009 im ICM stattfanden. Diesem Motto schlossen wir uns an und stellten richtungsweisende Themen auf unserem Messestand und der Kongressveranstaltung vor.

Highlights unserer Ausstellung waren interaktive Applikationen für das iPhone – ein Portal für bayerische Lokalradios – und iTV-Anwendungen am Beispiel von Yahoo!-Widgets. Zudem präsentierten wir unsere Produkte TPEG Analyser und TPEG on air. Erstmals kann eine Verschlüsselung von Premium-Reiseinformationen neue Businessmodelle bei TPEG ermöglichen. Durch die Integration des vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten HECA Systems lassen sich gezielt Teile eines Dienstes verschlüsseln.

Am Donnerstag, den 29. Oktober 2009 diskutierten hochkarätige Referenten nach einem bmt-Fachvortrag, vom Technischen Leiter der bmt, Herrn Rainer Biehn, das Thema „Wireless Internet vs. Digital Terrestrischer Rundfunk – Wer gewinnt das Rennen?“. Mit dabei waren

Dr. Hans Hege, Direktor Medienanstalt Berlin-Brandenburg, Berlin,
Helwin Lesch, Leiter Hauptabteilung Programm-Distribution, BR, München,
Rudolf Markschläger, Head of Network Engineering, Vodafone, Düsseldorf und
Bärbel Vogel-Mideldorf, Unterabteilungsleiterin für Telekommunikations- und Postpolitik, Internationale Angelegenheiten im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie, Bonn.

Moderation: Frank Strässle-Wendelstein, Geschäftsführer der bmt.

Den Fachvortrag als pdf-Datei finden Sie hier als Download.

Zu den Impressionen geht es hier.

bmt-Vortrag auf dem TKLM-Symposium 2009

Im Rahmen des TKLM-Symposiums “Terrestrik der Zukunft – Zukunft der Terrestrik” am Mittwoch, 7. Oktober 2009 referierte Rainer Biehn, Technischer Leiter der bmt, zum Thema:

Terrestrik 2.0 – mit hybriden Netzen in die Zukunft?
Neue Ansätze zur Verknüpfung von terrestrischem Broadcast mit dem Internet.

Den gesamten Vortrag finden Sie hier.

Rundfunk und Mobilität – Produkte der bmt auf der IFA, IBC und IAA

Premium-Dienste machen Autofahrern das Leben einfacher. Einen Parkplatz finden, aktuelle Benzinpreise oder die neuesten lokalen Wetterinformationen abrufen: TPEG und HECA sind die Lösung, wenn es darum geht, diese Informationen an Autofahrer und dynamische Navigationssysteme zu übertragen. Kostenfreie und kostenpflichtige Verkehrs- und Reisedienste können einfach kombiniert werden.

Auf der IFA, der IBC und der IAA zeigt die Bayerische Medien Technik (bmt) GmbH eine Live-Übertragung von TPEG und HECA in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IIS an deren Messestand.

Die TPEG-Ausstrahlung erfolgt über das TPEG ON AIR Playoutsystem der bmt. Die TPEG-Daten können mit dem TPEG ANALYSER empfangen und dargestellt werden.

Das Fraunhofer System HECA – High Efficiency Conditional Access ermöglicht die kontrollierte Verbreitung digitaler Inhalte und ist daher eine Schlüsseltechnologie für Diensteanbieter, die eine geschlossenen Nutzergruppe adressieren und einen Premium Service aufbauen wollen.

Auf folgenden Messen können Sie eine Live-Vorführung von TPEG und HECA erleben:

IFA – Berlin, 4. bis 9. September – TecWatch 12, Halle 5.3

IBC – Amsterdam, 11. bis 15. September – Halle 8, Stand C81

IAA – Frankfurt, 15. bis 18. September – Halle 4.1, Stand C15

Für Fragen oder eine Terminvereinbarung am Fraunhofer IIS Messestand bitten wir um Kontaktaufnahme.

TPEG-Workshop

Der erste TPEG-Workshop “Getting in touch with TPEG” fand am 23. Juni 2009 in München statt und war mit 20 Teilnehmern ausverkauft.

In diesem eintägigen Workshop ging es um die Grundlagen zur Technologie und die Spezifikation von TPEG. Zudem wurden der Empfang und das Erstellen von Diensten theoretisch besprochen und praktisch geübt.

Das Programm umfasste folgende Kernpunkte:

- History of TPEG

– Introduction to TPEG Technology

– TPEG Specifications

– Hands-on Session: TPEG Reception

– TPEG Service Design

– Hands-on Session: TPEG Service Design

Wenn Sie Interesse an der Teilnahme an künftigen Workshops haben senden Sie bitte eine Email an: info@bmt-online.de

Erster landesweiter TPEG-Service in Großbritannien gestartet – bmt liefert zentrale Systemkomponente

Anfang Februar startete Trafficmaster, der führende Anbieter von Verkehrs- und Reiseinformationen in UK, den europaweit ersten landesweit verfügbaren TPEG-Service in Großbritannien. Die bmt unterstützte Trafficmaster maßgeblich bei der Umsetzung des Dienstes mit ihrem TPEG-Playout „TPEG on air“.

Die von Trafficmaster generierten Verkehrsdaten liegen in Echtzeit vor und werden gemäß TPEG-Standard in das Digital-Radio-Signal eingetastet. Dadurch sind hochqualitative und zuverlässige Daten zum Verkehrsfluss inklusive Unfällen und Baustellen schnell verfügbar. Der Service gibt Reisenden Auskünfte zu hilfreichen Umleitungen und informiert über den möglichen Zeitverlust.

Das Playoutsystem „TPEG on air“ zeichnet sich durch sein modulares Design und die Unter-stützung offener Schnittstellen aus. So ist der Import von Verkehrsdaten aus allen gängigen Formaten wie XML- und Binärdaten oder nach kundenspezifischer Anforderung möglich.

Der neue digitale Service steht in Großbritannien vor allem der Automobilindustrie und Herstellern von tragbaren Navigationsgeräten für öffentliche Tests zur Verfügung. Er entspricht den von der TISA (Traveller Information Services Association) entwickelten und gepflegten TPEG Standards. Die bmt ist TISA-Mitglied und unterstützt aktiv die Weiterentwicklung von TPEG als zukünftigen Standard für Mobilitätsdienste.

Weiter zur Pressemitteilung (pdf, 34kb)

bmt-Referent auf der Fachtagung „CeBit in Motion“

Im Rahmen der Podiumsdiskussion „Die Zukunft der digitalen Verkehrsinformation“ referiert Martin Dreher, bmt-Projektleiter Verkehrstelematik, auf der CeBit 2009. Die Fachtagung „CeBit in Motion“ gilt als eine entscheidende internationale Plattform zum Austausch über neueste Entwicklungen und Trends in den Bereichen Telematics & Navigation, Automotive Solutions und Transport & Logistics.

Termin: Fr. 6. März, von 16:00 bis 18:00 Uhr, in den Hallen 14 & 15