Interactive Services

The bmt’s interactive services for broadcasting encompass products where the user must also play an active role. The bmt can develop custom services/applications harmonized precisely to the needs of the application, and thus optimized in terms of performance and stability.

The bmt also draws on its own experience to develop for all current systems, such as HbbTV, iOS and Android.

Current Projects

Local TV portal

The Local TV portal comprises a still image channel and an HbbTV application. It is intended to make it easier to find local TV programming.

The still image channel is fed by satellite and shows all available local TV programming, including the logo, program name, ID and transponder slot (frequency). Satellite receiver users can then find programs on their own and bookmark their favorite program slots.

The HbbTV application can be received via DVB-T and satellite on Smart-TV receivers (HbbTV). The selection of local TV programming is collated into lists (by federal state) and program (broadcaster name), and is supported through maps and logos. If a given program is available, selecting it leads to an automatic jump to that live satellite signal or to the broadcaster’s specific HbbTV application with a media library or similar.

Modular radio app

This new product from the bmt involves an iOS and Android radio app featuring a modular construction. Select your preferred options and offer your listeners and users the latest app technology in your corporate design.

Select from the options

- Notifications
- Image/email/voice to studio
- Traffic speed trap warnings
- Current song/playlist
- Banner ads
- Alarm clock function

Or tell us your ideas and we’ll integrate them.

You can find more details here or by request. The Donau 3 FM app is available in the app stores.

Prior development projects

The BR Radio App (iOS) and BR Rundschau App (Android) were developed for BR. The bmt was commissioned by the BLM to develop the BLM local radio (iOS) app, an iPhone application for local Bavarian radio programming.

The DynSI (Dynamic Service Information) system developed by the bmt processes topical content bundled with the broadcast signal and makes it available for transmission. This is handled based on the so-called Service Information (SI), in this case specified for Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB).

The bmt is also involved in the field of digital radio (such as the “DAB-Toolbox” and “Datendienst goes Handy”) and mobile broadcasting with interactive services (such as with the aid of Java or MPEG4-BIFS).

Tagging

Given the relatively short usage times, users seeking mobile access to TV content on portable receivers need quick access to interesting, highly meaningful information. There are two ways to achieve this: classic linear programming; or a system to save segments from the on-going program to allow on-demand viewing. Tagging involves the marking of individual segments of an audio or video stream by the program broadcasters, allowing for targeted recording based on category and simple call up based on meta-information bundled with the broadcast. A demo application developed by the bmt shows how tagging works on mobiles, and clarifies the potential applications of tagging. Program segments are sorted by category and can be selected and viewed based on a brief description of the content. The time for recording and the program broadcaster’s logo are also displayed on each segment. Once a viewer composes a playlist of desired segments, those segments can then be collated into a virtual program — ordered to the viewer’s preference — for future viewing.

Interactive Applications (MPEG4-BIFS, Java)

BIFS stands for Binary Format for Scenes, a descriptive language contained within MPEG-4 used for interactive multimedia content. When working with DMB, BIFS offers the opportunity for supplemental services such as the ordering of merchandise or a news ticker to be included with a video service.

Interaktive Dienste

Als Interaktive Dienste bezeichnet man im Rundfunk Angebote, welche das Eingreifen des Nutzers ermöglichen. Die bmt bietet die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderte Dienste/Applikationen, die genau auf die Bedürfnisse der Anwendung abgestimmt und somit hinsichtlich Performance und Stabilität optimiert sind.

Basierend auf ihren Erfahrungen entwickelt die bmt für alle aktuellen Systeme, wie z.B. HbbTV, iOS und Android.

Aktuelle Projekte

Lokal-TV-Portal

Das Lokal-TV-Portal besteht aus einem Standbildkanal und einer HbbTV-Applikation. Ziel ist es die Auffindbarkeit lokaler Fernsehangebote zu erleichtern.

Der Standbildkanal zeigt via Satellit alle verfügbaren Lokal-TV-Programme mit Logo, Programmname, Kennung und Transponderplatz. So kann jeder Nutzer eines Satellitenreceivers die Programme selbst finden und auf den gewünschten Programmplätzen abspeichern.

Die HbbTV-Applikation ist via DVB-T und Satellit auf Smart-TV-Empfängern (HbbTV) empfangbar. Die Auswahl der Lokal-TV-Programme erfolgt über Listen (Bundesländer) und Programme (Sendername) und wird durch Karten und Logos unterstützt. Je nach Verfügbarkeit führt die Auswahl eines Programms zu dessen Live-Satellitensignal oder zu einer sendereigenen HbbTV-Anwendung mit einer Mediathek oder Ähnlichem.

Radio App als Baukasten

Als neues Produkt bietet die bmt eine Radio App (iOS und Android) an, die wie ein Baukasten funktioniert. Suchen Sie Ihre Wunschoptionen aus und bieten Sie Ihren Hörern und Usern neueste Apptechnologie in Ihrem Design.

Wählen Sie aus den Optionen

- Nachrichten
- Bild/Mail/Voice ins Studio
- Blitzer-Meldung
- aktueller Song/Playlist
- Bannerwerbung
- Weckerfunktion

oder lassen Sie sich von uns Ihre neuen Ideen einbinden.

Weitere Details erhalten Sie hier und auf Anfrage oder als Download der Donau 3 FM App in den Stores.

Bisherige Entwicklungen

Für den BR wurden die BR Radio App (iOS) und die BR Rundschau App (Android) erstellt. Im Auftrag der BLM entwickelte die bmt die App BLM Lokalradio (iOS) eine iPhone-Applikation für die bayerischen Lokalradioprogramme.

Das von der Bayerischen Medien Technik entwickelte System DynSI (Dynamische Service Informationen) verarbeitet sendungsbegleitende Inhalte mit aktuellem Bezug und stellt diese zur Ausstrahlung zur Verfügung. Basis hierfür sind die sogenannten Service Informationen (SI), die bei Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB) spezifiziert sind.

Die bmt beschäftigte sich auch im Bereich Digital Radio (z.B. “DAB-Toolbox” oder “Datendienst goes Handy”) und Mobile Broadcasting mit interaktiven Diensten, z.B. mit Hilfe von Java oder MPEG4-BIFS.

Tagging

Bei der mobilen Nutzung von Fernsehinhalten auf tragbaren Empfängern ist aufgrund der relativ kurzen Nutzungsdauer der schnelle Zugriff auf die den Nutzer interessierenden Informationen von hoher Bedeutung. Dies kann erreicht werden, indem neben den linearen Programmen auch Teile des laufenden Programms gespeichert werden und somit jederzeit abrufbar sind. Tagging bezeichnet das Markieren von einzelnen Beiträgen in einem Audio- oder Videostrom durch die Programmanbieter, wodurch die gezielte Aufzeichnung nach Kategorien und deren einfacher Abruf anhand der mitgespeicherten Metainformationen möglich ist. Eine von der bmt entwickelte Demoapplikation zeigt anschaulich die Funktionsweise von Tagging auf einem Mobiltelefon und gibt einen Eindruck der Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von Tagging. Beiträge werden nach Kategorien sortiert und können anhand einer kurzen Inhaltsbeschreibung ausgewählt und angeschaut werden. Der Zeitpunkt der Aufzeichnung und das Logo des Programmanbieters werden ebenfalls zu jedem Beitrag angezeigt. Indem der Zuschauer die gewünschten Beiträge in einer Playliste vormerkt, kann er sich zukünftig seinen eigenen Programmablauf – also ein virtuelles Programm – zusammenstellen.

Interaktive Anwendungen (MPEG4-BIFS, Java)

BIFS ist die Abkürzung für Binary Format for Scenes, eine in MPEG-4 enthaltene standardisierte Beschreibungssprache für interaktive multimediale Inhalte. Bei DMB bietet BIFS die Möglichkeit, begleitend zu einem Videoservice interaktive Zusatzdienste wie die Bestellung von Waren oder Nachrichtenticker anzubieten.