Broadcasting

 

The bmt has been an active participant in engineering the switchover to digital radio since the introduction of DAB pilot project in Bavaria in 1995. Alongside our collaboration on national and European projects, the bmt develops data services and applications for hybrid networks. The bmt’s work encompasses custom applications, technical support commissions and consulting services, as well as studies related to digital broadcasting. Serving as a project office, the bmt coordinated the roll-out of digital antenna television broadcasting (DVB-T) in Bavaria and was part of the national “klardigital 2012″ campaign that accompanied the discontinuation of analog satellite broadcasting. The bmt also created the conceptual design for Bavaria’s DVB-S project and oversaw its implementation with participating partners.

Television

project office DVB-T2 HD

ARD, Media Authorities, Media Group RTL Germany, ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG, VPRT and ZDF launched a joint initiative to introduce DVB-T2 HD for terrestrial television. For the communicative support of the transfer to DVB-T2 HD the bmt is commissioned as a project office. In future the standards DVB-T2 and HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding) will be used for the terrestrial television in Germany. With this advanced combination the German TV broadcasters will transmit television in the remaining frequency spectrum for broadcasting.

 

DVB-S for local Bavarian TV stations

Since late 2012, Bavaria’s 16 local television providers have had access to 10 satellite channels — including seven 24h channels. The bmt is actively integrated in the signal transmission and playout process, as well as other services. In addition, the bmt operates the local TV portal and offers HbbTV media libraries.

 

bmt supports the klardigital project office

Analog satellite transmissions ceased on April 30, 2012. klardigital 2012 – an initiative of the German state media authorities in cooperation with ARD, the RTL Deutschland Media Group, ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG, VPRT and ZDF – informed affected satellite households and provided consulting to specialized retailers, craftsman, the housing industry and cable network providers. The bmt provided the deputy project director for the klardigital project office, located in Berlin by DIE MEDIENANSTALTEN.

 

DVB-T Project Office Bayern

Since 1998, the bmt has been working intensively on the topic of DVB-T, first as the branch office for the DVB-T field surveys in Bavaria and later as the project office for DVB-T Bayern. The field trials focused on the coordination, classification and selection of transmitters and receivers, the handling of grants, evaluation of measurement and test results and documentation. The bmt’s internal economic feasibility study on DVB-T broadcasting networks demonstrated its know-how for questions related to technology and business and set benchmarks for its subsequent implementation. Working as the DVB-T Bayern project office, bmt coordinated the roll-out in Bavaria and was responsible for joint communication between all partners. The focus of its activity was on education and information of the general public on the topic in the following areas: PR and publicity, info events, training sessions, call center support, Internet, trade fairs, etc.

Radio

Digital Radio Know-How from its Inception

Since its founding, the bmt has had a constant, intense focus on the area of digital radio. That know-how even extends further back into the development and standardization phase of digital radio. The bmt has also authored studies on DAB+. Within its daily work, the bmt works closely with the BDR, which as the digital radio broadcast network provider for Bavaria is intensively interested in the development of digital radio in Bavaria and across Germany. Since 2003, when it was first commissioned by BR, BMT has handled technical support for “BR Verkehr,” a program exclusively for digital radio established new in 2003 by BR.

 

Consulting and Workshops on Digital Radio

Last but not least, the bmt is an in-demand consultant for expertise in the explorations of the feasibility and implementation of digital radio. Where needed, the bmt can be commissioned for services ranging from simple consultations to on-site intensive workshops and practical training in the use of broadcasting and receiving equipment.

 

Product: Text-2-Radio

The bmt developed this technique for converting text notifications into spoken form for dissemination over broadcast channels. The product can be used for traffic notifications, standard or urgent news or other information channels.

 

Project: Study on the system standard / DAB+ Project Regensburg

“The DAB+ Standard System – Fundamentals and Opportunities for Implementation,” a theoretical study on the behavior of DAB+, with a special focus on error control and audio quality, was composed in 2008. Those considerations were then used to propose potential multiplex configurations that provide orientation on the number of programs available in an ensemble. Download study A test project for DAB+ was conducted in Regensburg to test future operating concepts for practical implementation. An experimental network was operated over several months, featuring potential constellations for the delivery of program signals to the central DAB multiplexer and the broadcast of supplemental data.

 

Opportunities and benefits for hybrid radio usage

A system concept for the hybrid dissemination of radio programs via broadcasting systems and internet streams was composed, with the receiving device automatically switching to the best available reception path. A metadata structure was drafted and a practical proof-of-concept was delivered using a prototype receiver. The initial presentation was conducted as part of the Medientage München 2010. The concept can be viewed here.

 

Project DAB Toolbox

In 1998-9 the bmt coordinated the implementation of the DAB-Toolbox project, sponsored by the Media Authority of Baden-Württemberg (LfK) and the Bavarian Authority for New Media (BLM). The project was intended to make it easier for program broadcasters to work with the expanded opportunities inherent to digital radio. The tools from the project make it easier to generate and feed media services to the corresponding inserters.

 

DAB Pilot Project

Between 1995 and 1998, the bmt served as consultant for the implementation of the DAB pilot project in Bavaria. Since the founding of the BDR in 1998 as the digital radio network operator for Bavaria, the bmt has been working intensively with the BDR and various content creators on the development of supplemental features for digital radio.

 

Mobile Broadcasting

In recent years the bmt has built a comprehensive pool of expertise in the area of mobile broadcasting, and participated in the European mobile media project MI FRIENDS. “MI FRIENDS” involves mobile interactive TV, radio, info, entertainment and new digital services and was initiated by the Bavarian Authority for New Media (BLM). The bmt served as the technical coordinator with responsibility for technical project management, and also supported the project in the area of communication/dissemination. It also developed the intelligent “tagging” storage solution as well as interactive applications (such as MPEG4-BIFS, Java).

Rundfunk

Die bmt ist seit dem Start des DAB-Pilotprojektes 1995 in Bayern aktiv an den Entwicklungen der Digitalisierung des Hörfunks beteiligt. Neben der Mitarbeit an nationalen sowie europäischen Projekten werden von der bmt Datendienste sowie Applikationen für hybride Netze entwickelt. Neben einzelnen Anwendungen übernimmt die bmt technische Betreuungsaufgaben und bietet Consultingleistungen sowie Studien im Umfeld des Digitalen Rundfunks an. Als Projektbüro koordinierte die bmt die Einführung des digitalen Antennenfernsehens (DVB-T) in Bayern und war Teil der nationalen Kampagne „klardigital 2012“ zur Beendigung der analogen Satellitenverbreitung. Für die bayerischen DVB-S-Projekte erstellte die bmt die Konzeption und setzte diese mit den beteiligten Partnern um.

Fernsehen

Projektbüro DVB-T2 HD

ARD, die Medienanstalten, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland, ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG, VPRT und ZDF führen eine gemeinsame Initiative zur Einführung von DVB-T2 HD durch. Für die kommunikative Begleitung des Umstiegs auf DVB-T2 HD wurde die bmt als Projektbüro beauftragt. Zukünftig werden für das terrestrische Antennenfernsehen die Standards DVB-T2 und HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding) genutzt. Mit dieser fortschrittlichen Kombination übertragen die deutschen TV-Veranstalter zukünftig in dem für den Rundfunk verbleibenden Frequenzspektrum weiterhin Fernsehen.

 

DVB-S für bayerische Lokal-TV-Stationen

Seit Ende 2012 stehen den 16 lokalen Fernsehanbietern in Bayern 10 Satellitenkanäle – darunter sieben 24-h-Kanäle – zur Verfügung. Die bmt ist aktiv in die Signalheranführung, den Playoutbetrieb und weitere Leistungen eingebunden. Zudem betreibt die bmt das Lokal-TV-Portal und bietet HbbTV-Mediatheken an.

 

bmt unterstützte Projektbüro klardigital

Am 30. April 2012 endete die analoge Satellitenübertragung. klardigital 2012 – eine Initiative der Landesmedienanstalten in Zusammenarbeit mit ARD, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland, ProSiebenSat.1 Media AG, VPRT und ZDF – informierte die betroffenen Satellitenhaushalte und beriet Fachhandel, Fachhandwerk, Wohnungswirtschaft und Kabelnetzbetreiber. Die bmt entsandte den stellvertretenden Projektleiter ins Projektbüro klardigital, welches in Berlin bei DIE MEDIENANSTALTEN angesiedelt war.

 

DVB-T Projektbüro Bayern

Die bmt arbeitet seit 1998 intensiv am Thema DVB-T, zuerst als Geschäftsstelle im DVB-T Feldversuch Bayern und später als Projektbüro DVB-T Bayern. Der Arbeitsschwerpunkt im Feldversuch lag in der Koordination, der Sichtung und Auswahl an Sende- und Empfangsgeräten, der Förderabwicklung, der Auswertung von Mess- und Testergebnissen sowie der Dokumentation. Mit einer internen Wirtschaftlichkeitsstudie zu den DVB-T-Sendernetzen bewies die bmt ihr Know-How im technisch-wirtschaftlichen Bereich und setzt Maßstäbe für die spätere Einführung. Als Projektbüro DVB-T Bayern koordinierte die bmt die Einführung in Bayern und verantwortete die gemeinsame Kommunikation aller Partner. Der Schwerpunkt der Tätigkeit lag neben der für die Allgemeinheit verständlichen Aufarbeitung dieses Themas in den Bereichen Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Informationsveranstaltungen, Schulungen, Callcenterbetreuung, Internet, Messen u.v.m.

Hörfunk

Digital Radio Know-How seit der Geburtsstunde

Die bmt arbeitet seit ihrer Gründung stetig und intensiv im Bereich Digital Radio. Das Know-How reicht dabei sogar noch weiter zurück bis in die Entwicklungs- und Standardisierungsphase von Digital Radio. Zudem erstellte die bmt auch Studien zu DAB+. In der täglichen Arbeit kooperiert die bmt eng mit der BDR, die sich als Sendernetzbetreiber von Digital Radio in Bayern intensiv für die Entwicklung von Digital Radio in Bayern und bundesweit einsetzt. Die bmt führt seit 2003 im Auftrag des BR den technischen Support des Programms “BR Verkehr” durch, welches vom BR 2003 als neues Programm ausschließlich für Digital Radio aus der Taufe gehoben wurde.

 

Beratung und Workshops rund um Digital Radio

Nicht zuletzt ist die bmt durch ihr Know-How ein häufig gefragter Consultant, wenn es um die Erörterung von Möglichkeiten und Umsetzungen in Digital Radio geht. Auf Wunsch steht die bmt beratend zur Seite. Dies kann vom einfachen Beratungsgespräch bis hin zum intensiven Workshop oder der praktischen Schulung anhand von Sende- und Empfangsequipment im Haus reichen.

 

Produkt: Text-2-Radio

Die Umsetzungen von Meldungen in Textform in gesprochene Sprache und deren Aussendung in einem Rundfunkkanal ist ein Produkt der bmt. Es ist einsetzbar für Verkehrsinformationen, Nachrichten, Sonderberichterstattung und sonstige Informationskanäle.

 

Projekt: Studie über den Systemstandard / DAB+ Projekt Regensburg

Unter dem Titel “Der Systemstandard DAB+ – Grundlagen und Möglichkeiten des Einsatzes” wurde im Jahr 2008 eine theoretische Untersuchung des Verhaltens von DAB+ in Hinblick auf Fehlerschutz und Audioqualität durchgeführt. Basierend auf diesen Überlegungen werden mögliche Multiplexkonfigurationen vorgeschlagen, die eine Orientierung hinsichtlich der Anzahl verfügbarer Programme in einem Ensemble geben. Download Studie Ein Erprobungsprojekt für DAB+ wurde in Regensburg durchgeführt, um zukünftige Betriebskonzepte vor deren praktischen Einsatz zu erproben. Hierbei wurde ein Versuchsnetz über mehrere Monate betrieben und mögliche Konstellationen für die Zuführung von Programmsignalen zum zentralen DAB-Multiplexer und die Aussendung von Zusatzdaten implementiert.

 

Chancen und Möglichkeiten einer hybriden Radionutzung

Es wurde ein Systemkonzept für die hybride Nutzung von über Rundfunksystemen übertragenen Radioprogrammen mit Internet-Streams erarbeitet, bei der das Empfangsgerät automatisch den jeweils besten zur Verfügung stehenden Empfangsweg auswählt. Dazu wurde eine Metadatenstruktur entworfen und das Gesamtkonzept anhand eines Prototypenempfängers praktisch gezeigt. Die erstmalige Präsentation erfolgte im Rahmen der Medientage München 2010. Das Konzept finden Sie hier.

 

Projekt DAB-Toolbox

1998/1999 koordinierte die bmt die Durchführung des Projektes DAB-Toolbox, das durch die Landesanstalt für Kommunikation Baden-Württemberg (LfK) und die Bayerische Landeszentrale für neue Medien (BLM) gefördert wurde. Ziel des Projektes war es Programmanbietern Hilfsmittel an die Hand zu geben, um die erweiterten Möglichkeiten von Digital Radio leichter nutzen zu können. Die Tools aus dem Projekt erleichtern die Generierung und Zuspielung von Multimedia Diensten zu den entsprechenden Insertern.

 

DAB-Pilotprojekt

Von 1995 bis 1998 war die bmt mit der Umsetzung des DAB Pilotprojektes in Bayern betraut. Seit der Gründung der BDR 1998 als bayerischer Sendernetzbetreiber für Digital Radio, arbeitet die bmt intensiv mit der BDR und zahlreichen Programmmachern an der Entwicklung von zusätzlichen Features in Digital Radio.

 

Mobile Broadcasting

Die bmt hat sich in den letzten Jahren im Bereich Mobile Broadcasting ein umfassendes Know-How aufgebaut und war Teil des europäischen Mobile Media Projekt MI FRIENDS. „MI FRIENDS“ steht für Mobiles, Interaktives Fernsehen, Radio, Information, Entertainment und Neue Digitale Services und wurde von der Bayerischen Landeszentrale für neue Medien initiiert. Die bmt war als technischer Koordinator für das technische Projektmanagement zuständig und unterstützte das Projekt im Bereich Kommunikation/Dissemination. Darüber hinaus entwickelt sie die intelligente Speicherlösung „Tagging“ sowie weitere interaktive Anwendungen (z. B. MPEG4-BIFS, Java).