Services

The bmt is a service provider for private broadcasting in Bavaria and negotiates licensing contracts on behalf of the BLM with its customers for cable and broadcasting capacity among various network operators.

Services

The bmt’s customers are local, regional and national providers who wish to disseminate their radio and television programs in Bavaria and beyond. For our customers we work with broadcasting providers such as Media Broadcast, Kabel Deutschland, Astra/SES-PS and Bayern Digital Radio terrestrial transmission center, transmission lines and playout to the cable networks. The feed-in of Bavaria’s local TV slot on RTL is handled by the bmt.

An overview of private radio and TV programs can be found on the pages of the BLM.

The bmt provides consulting for its customers on technical innovations and optimization opportunities in cooperation with the Bavarian Authority for New Media (BLM). For technical implementation, the bmt coordinates workflows between broadcaster, broadcast service providers and the BLM. Costs for technical transmission equipment for private broadcasters in Bavaria are subsidized by the BLM to ease the economic impact. Funds are earmarked in particular for optimization measures and ongoing expansion of digitalization. The bmt is also tasked with conducting promotional measures.

To improve coverage, the distribution areas of the Bavarian program broadcasters are optimized on an ongoing basis. In the terrestrial area, the bmt works in coordination with the broadcasters, BLM and broadcast network operators on the planning and implementation of site positioning, performance boosting, frequency switches and changes to the antenna schematic. For providers of cable programming, new networks are established and existing networks optimized. For our customers, we are constantly searching for technical innovations to serve as alternatives to the prior technical transmission equipment and services.

Measurement processes

Because a variety of shareholders are seeking the new access to terrestrial bandwidths, the expansion of analog and digital broadcasting — and potential disruptions to those signals — are taking on an ever-increasing role. The bmt has reacted to this trend by expanding its “Services in Broadcasting Technology” to include a measurement vehicle.<

The vehicle, which can be deployed in a variety of situations, provides the bmt with the infrastructure and expertise to handle complex measurement tasks in a timely and targeted manner.

Broadcasters, broadcast network operators, German state media authorities and other organizations using wireless signal broadcasting can commission the bmt’s measurement vehicle for a variety of services.

The primary area of investigation are the UKW (FM), DAB/DAB+ and DVB-T broadcasting services. Beyond the measurement services, which work based on established standards and guidelines, it is also possible to conduct special customized measurements and analyses.

Measurements can be taken from a stationary position or while moving. The 10 meter long telescoping mast, capable of rotating in 360 degrees, is used for stationary measurements.

A second portion of vehicle roof is kept free to allow for other antenna systems to be mounted, meaning mobile measurements can be conducted quickly and efficiently.

All measurements are geo-referenced. Depending on which wireless service is being observed, several automated measurements are conducted per second.

By request, frequency bands outside the broadcasting range, such as mobile radio communications (GSM, LTE,…) and BOS signals (TETRA) up to 3 GHz can be assessed.

The measurement vehicle is a custom Mercedes Benz Vito adapted to the bmt’s specs. It features the following components:

– DVB-T measuring receiver and ETL spectrum analyzer und (Rohde&Schwarz)
– DAB/DAB+ measuring receiver FieldMonitor (RadioScape)
– UKW measuring receiver TS 9085 (MicroGen Electronics)
– Directional broadcasting antenna FT-01 for bands II to IV (Schwarzbeck)
– 4×4 HF matrix (Telemeter)
– Navigation system with GPS receiver and electric compass (Nexus)
– PC workstation with control monitor in driver’s view

The measurement vehicle is designed to operate with one or more measurement engineers/technicians aboard. It also offers flexible expansion options, allowing for various antenna or receivers (such as audio receivers) to be tested.

Dienstleistungen

Die bmt ist Dienstleister für den privaten Rundfunk in Bayern und schließt im Auftrag der BLM für ihre Kunden Überlassungsverträge für Leitungs- und Sendekapazitäten bei verschiedenen Netzbetreibern ab.

Leistungen

Die Kunden der Bayerischen Medien Technik sind lokale, regionale und nationale Anbieter, die ihre Hörfunk- und Fernsehprogramme in Bayern und drüber hinaus verbreiten. Für unsere Kunden haben wir bei Broadcast-Dienstleistern wie der Media Broadcast, der Kabel Deutschland, Astra/SES-PS und der Bayern Digital Radio terrestrische Sendeanlagen, Heranführungsleitungen sowie die Einspeisung in Kabelnetze angemietet. Die Schaltung der bayerischen lokalen Fernsehfenster in RTL wird von der bmt im Auftrag der BLM durchgeführt.

Eine Übersicht privater Hörfunk- und Fernsehprogramme finden Sie auf den Seiten der BLM.

Die bmt berät ihre Kunden über technische Neuerungen und Optimierungsmöglichkeiten in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bayerischen Landeszentrale für neue Medien (BLM). Für die technische Umsetzung koordiniert die bmt die Abläufe zwischen Anbietern, Broadcast-Dienstleistern und BLM. Die sendetechnischen Einrichtungen der privaten Rundfunkanbieter in Bayern werden von der BLM gefördert, um deren wirtschaftliche Belastung zu verringern. Insbesondere werden Optimierungsmaßnahmen und der weitere Ausbau der Digitalisierung unterstützt. Eine weitere Aufgabe der bmt ist die Durchführung dieser Fördermaßnahmen.

Zur Verbesserung der Versorgung werden laufend die Verbreitungsgebiete der bayerischen Programmanbieter optimiert. Im terrestrischen Bereich plant und realisiert die bmt in Zusammenarbeit mit Anbietern, BLM und Sendernetzbetreiber Standortverlagerungen, Leistungserhöhungen, Frequenzwechsel und Änderungen des Antennendiagramms. Für die Anbieter von Kabelprogrammen werden neue Netze erschlossen und bestehende Netze optimiert. Für unsere Kunden suchen wir auch nach technischen Innovationen als Alternativen zu bisherigen sendetechnischen Einrichtungen und Dienstleistungen.

Messfahrzeug

Aufgrund einer Vielzahl von neuen terrestrischen Frequenznutzungen spielen die Ausbreitungen und mögliche Störungen im analogen und digitalen Rundfunk eine immer bedeutendere Rolle. Dieser Entwicklung trägt die bmt Rechnung, indem sie ihr Geschäftsfeld „Dienstleistungen Rundfunktechnik” durch ein Messfahrzeug erweitert.

Mit dem flexibel einsetzbaren Messfahrzeug verfügt die bmt über eine Infrastruktur und das Know-How komplexe Messaufgaben zeitnah und bedarfsgerecht umzusetzen.

Im Rahmen verschiedener Dienstleistungen bietet die bmt das Messfahrzeug Rundfunkveranstaltern, Sendernetzbetreibern, Landesmedienanstalten oder anderen, die ihre Signale per Funk verbreiten, an.

Schwerpunktmäßig werden die Rundfunkdienste UKW, DAB/DAB+ und DVB-T untersucht. Neben den Messungen gemäß entsprechend etablierter Standards und Richtlinien, sind auch spezielle – für den Auftraggeber entwickelte – Messungen und Auswertungen realisierbar.

Die Messungen können mobil oder stationär erfolgen. Für die stationären Messungen steht ein bis auf 10 Meter ausfahrbarer und um 360 Grad drehbarer Mast zur Verfügung.

Mit einem zweiten Fahrzeugdach, auf dem beliebige Antennensysteme montiert werden können, sind mobile Messungen schnell und effizient durchführbar.

Alle Messungen sind georeferenziert. Je nach Funkdienst werden mehrere Messungen pro Sekunde automatisiert durchgeführt.

Auf Anfrage können auch rundfunkfremde Frequenzbereiche, wie z.B. Mobilfunk (GSM, LTE, …) und BOS-Funk (TETRA), bis 3 GHz bewertet werden.

Das Messfahrzeug ist eine Spezialanfertigung nach Vorgaben der bmt auf Basis eines Mercedes Benz Vito und besteht aus folgenden Komponenten:

– DVB-T-Messempfänger und Spektrumanalysator ETL (Rohde&Schwarz)
– DAB/DAB+-Messempfänger FieldMonitor (RadioScape)
– UKW-Messempfänger TS 9085 (MicroGen Electronics)
– Rundfunk-Richtantenne FT-01 für die Bänder II bis IV (Schwarzbeck)
– 4×4 HF-Matrix (Telemeter)
– Navigationssystem mit GPS-Empfänger und elektrischem Kompass (Nexus)
– PC-Arbeitsplatz mit Kontrollmonitor im Sichtfeld des Fahrers

Das Messfahrzeug wurde für den Betrieb mit einem oder mehreren Messingenieuren/-technikern ausgelegt. Außerdem bietet es flexible Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten, so dass neben verschiedenen Antennen auch Empfangsgeräte (z.B. Autoradios) getestet werden können.