Traffic Telematics

One core competency at the bmt comes in the convergence of modern broadcast technologies and traffic information systems. A majority of communication and information technologies work together in this field. The bmt supports and operates legacy systems and services in this area, and is engaged in R&D of innovative new products in the field as well. By request it also offers consulting services.

What is traffic telematics?

Traffic telematics and digital broadcasting – synergies

Traffic telematics applications require an uninterrupted exchange of information between those involved in traffic and central information hubs. While individual targeted information/queries are transmitted from the traffic participants, the central hubs have the opportunity to disseminate information of relevance to those end participants.

Long before the reality of traffic telematics, mobile phones and GPS systems, it was the broadcasting networks which provided spoken traffic reports to keep end consumers up-to-date. Improvements in technology have made it possible for this information and additional content to be bundled as inaudible data together with the audible program (RDS-TMC).

Broadband broadcast media have been available at the very latest since the introduction of digital broadcasting systems that allow for the digital co-transmission of supplemental data. In the process, new opportunities in the traffic telematics field have arisen as well. Digital broadcasting systems enable a broadband, permanent data channel to be established to a vehicle, capable of transmitted almost any content desired; In contrast to point-to-point communication (such as GSM, TMTS,…), there are almost no connection costs for the end customer.

Traffic telemetrics services at present include traffic notifications in text form, such as for example graphic traffic overviews, flight departure schedules, parking lot availability, update data for GPS and much more. In the future, TPEG will be one of the methods used to bring an improved flow of traffic information to consumer devices.

The first TPEG services via wireless broadcasting networks (DAB+) were introduced in Germany in early 2014. As with most European broadcast projects, the bmt is a supplier for central system components.

Products

For years the bmt has been active in the specification of analyses and implementation of TPEG (Transport Protocol Expert Group) services. This includes both consulting services and the following products from the bmt for TPEG:

TPEG ON AIR

The TPEG ON AIR playout system facilitates the preparation of broadcast-ready TPEG notifications for dissemination via DAB/Internet, for example.

TPEG Editor

The TPEG Editor is a tool for the creation and modification of TPEG files. It can be used to open TPEG files and present their content in a clearly laid out user interface where all fields can be edited.

TPEG Analyser

The TPEG Analyser provides a real-time graphic depiction and assessment of multiple TPEG data streams. It is also possible to record data streams and analyze existing data streams.

For more products and services from bmt in the area of TPEG, please visit www.WEcanTPEG.com

Ecosystem_Beileger_20161125

Background

The Bayerische Medien Technik (bmt) offers professional-grade technical expertise in the IT field, especially as regards digital broadcast media.

Given the constellation of its ownership, the bmt represents an ideal partner for public and private broadcasters, as well as device makers and service providers.

The standard catalog of services is built around the latest technology, with an additional portfolio of interfaces, data conversation and data service provisioning through its specialized departments.

Verkehrstelematik

Eine Kernkompetenz der bmt liegt in der Konvergenz von modernen Rundfunkmedien mit Verkehrs-Informationssystemen. Eine Vielzahl von Kommunikations- und Informationstechniken spielen hier zusammen. Die bmt betreut und betreibt in diesem Bereich Bestandssysteme und -Dienste, führt selbst innovative Neuentwicklungen durch und übernimmt auf Wunsch Beratungsfunktionen.

Was ist Verkehrstelematik?

Verkehrstelematik und Digitaler Rundfunk – Synergien

Verkehrstelematik-Anwendungen leben von einem ununterbrochenen Informationsaustausch zwischen Verkehrsteilnehmern und Informationszentralen. Während vom Endteilnehmer einzelne, gezielte Informationen/Anfragen an die Informationszentralen übermittelt werden, haben die Zentralen den Bedarf, Informationen, welche für viele Endteilnehmer relevant sind, zu verbreiten.

Schon lange bevor irgendjemand von Verkehrstelematik, Mobiltelefonen und Navigationssystemen sprach, sorgte der Rundfunk über gesprochene Verkehrsmeldungen für den Informationsfluss zum Endnutzer. Mit fortschreitenden technischen Möglichkeiten werden diese Informationen und weitere Inhalte als unhörbarer Datenzusatz zum hörbaren Programm mitübertragen (RDS-TMC).

Spätestens seit der Einführung digitaler Rundfunksysteme, bei denen auch die Zusatzdaten digital übertragen werden, stehen breitbandige Broadcastmedien bereit. Sie eröffnen auch im Verkehrstelematikbereich neue Möglichkeiten. Digitale Rundfunksysteme ermöglichen einen breitbandigen, dauerhaften Datenkanal ins Fahrzeug, auf dem nahezu beliebige Inhalte ausgestrahlt und im Gegensatz zur Punkt-zu-Punkt-Kommunikation (z.B. GSM, UMTS, …) ohne Verbindungskosten für den Endkunden empfangen werden können.

Derzeit verfügbare verkehrstelematikrelevante Dienste sind neben Verkehrsmeldungen in Textform, zum Beispiel grafische Verkehrsübersichten, Abflugpläne, Parkhausbelegungsinformationen und Korrekturdaten für GPS und viele mehr. In Zukunft wird unter anderem TPEG für einen verbesserten Verkehrsinformationsfluss zum Endgerät hin beitragen.

Erste TPEG-Dienste über Rundfunknetze (DAB+) wurden Anfang 2014 in Deutschland eingeführt. Wie bei den meisten europäischen Broadcastprojekten ist die bmt Lieferant zentraler Systemkomponenten.

Produkte

Seit Jahren ist die bmt in der Spezifizierung der Analyse und der Umsetzung von TPEG-Diensten (Transport Protokoll Experts Group) aktiv. Neben Consultingleistungen bietet die bmt folgende Produkte für TPEG an:

TPEG ON AIR

Das Playout System TPEG ON AIR ermöglicht TPEG-Meldungen sendefertig aufzubereiten und z.B. über DAB/Internet zur Verfügung zu stellen.

TPEG Editor

Der TPEG-Editor dient der Erstellung und Änderung von TPEG-Meldungen. Die grafische Oberfläche erlaubt es auf einer Karte Meldungen einfach anzusehen und zu modifizieren.

TPEG Analyser

Der TPEG Analyser erlaubt die grafische Darstellung und Auswertung von mehreren TPEG-Datenströmen in Echtzeit. Die Aufzeichnung von Datenströmen sowie die Analyse von vorhandenen Datenströmen (Files) ist ebenfalls möglich.

Consulting und Workshops

Die bmt berät Endgerätehersteller, Contentprovider, Netzbetreiber und die Automobilindustrie zum Thema TPEG und bietet neben Analysen und Studien im TPEG-Lab umfangeiche Möglichkeiten die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette technisch darzustellen und zu testen.

Für einen schnellen Einstieg in das Thema TPEG, bietet die bmt einen 1-tägigen Workshop. Zunächst werden anhand umfangreicher Schulungsunterlagen die technischen Grundlagen und Anwendungsfälle erklärt und anschließend Übungen mit den TPEG-Produkten der bmt durchgeführt. Der Workshop wird sowohl in Deutsch und Englisch angeboten und ist bei der bmt München oder direkt im Unternehmen möglich.

Mehr zu den Produkten und Leistungen der bmt im Bereich TPEG finden Sie unter www.WEcanTPEG.com
Ecosystem_Beileger_20161125

Background

Die Bayerische Medien Technik bietet fundiertes technisches Know-How im IT-Bereich, insbesondere mit digitalen Broadcastmedien.

Aufgrund der Gesellschafterkonstellation stellt die bmt den idealen Ansprechpartner für den öffentlich-rechtlichen und den privaten Rundfunk, sowie für die Endgerätehersteller und Serviceprovider dar.

Sie bietet Dienstleistungen auf Basis neuester Technologien an, wobei Schnittstellen, Datenkonvertierung und die Bereitstellung von Datendiensten zu den Spezialgebieten gehören.